User Tag List

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Remotely controlling your Allen-Bradley PanelView Plus using VNC

  1. #1
    Administrator Shawn Tierney's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Location
    Berkshires, MA
    Posts
    2,124
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    3
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    1
    Thanked in
    1 Post

    Remotely controlling your Allen-Bradley PanelView Plus using VNC

    In today's article we'll discuss how you can remotely monitor and control your Allen-Bradley PanelView Plus using VNC (Virtual Network Computing.)

    The ability to use handheld devices with HMI or SCADA systems has been around for a long time. In fact, in the picture to the right you can see me back...

    Click here to view the full article.
    Looking for affordable automation training? If you are, check out my courses at TheAutomationSchool.com!

  2. #2
    Junior Member CMaas73's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    Waupun WI
    Posts
    2
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Surprised I never seen this forum before but...glad I did. We have been using VNC to view some of our panels but have one issue that I am almost certain we can't get around. We have a good percentage of our machine side network running off a second Ethernet card/switch. Our typical setup is a controllogix rack with three EN2Ts. We have panels on this second network and have not seen any way to tunnel acrossed the back plane. I am 99% sure we can't use VNC this way but figured I'd ask anyways.

  3. #3
    Administrator Shawn Tierney's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Location
    Berkshires, MA
    Posts
    2,124
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    3
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    1
    Thanked in
    1 Post
    Good morning CMaas73,

    I believe you are correct as Rockwell has maintained that only CIP packets can cross the backplane.

    If this is correct (I have not tried it recently,) coming through one ENxT card and going out another would not allow access to many of the extra services on the PVPlus like the VNC server, File Server, and Viewpoint. I imagine it would also include the inability to access the Webpages of other Rockwell devices.

    However if you learn differently please let us know!

    Sincerely,

    Shawn Tierney
    TheAutomationBlog.com
    Looking for affordable automation training? If you are, check out my courses at TheAutomationSchool.com!

  4. #4
    Junior Member CMaas73's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    Waupun WI
    Posts
    2
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Thank you for the response. I've been poking around and it does seem like it's not possible. I would guess smaller facilities have everything on the primary network, so it's not a issue. I doubt I'll find anything to change this conclusion but if I do, I'll make sure to share.

  5. #5
    Administrator Shawn Tierney's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Location
    Berkshires, MA
    Posts
    2,124
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    3
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    1
    Thanked in
    1 Post
    Thanks Cmaas73!

    Sincerely,


    Shawn Tierney
    TheAutomationBlog.com
    Looking for affordable automation training? If you are, check out my courses at TheAutomationSchool.com!

  6. #6
    Junior Member Tim I's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Posts
    1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    I know this is an old post but is it possible to use VNC on a PanelviewPlus 6 firmware v7 that is a keyboard only?

  7. #7
    Administrator Shawn Tierney's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Location
    Berkshires, MA
    Posts
    2,124
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    3
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    1
    Thanked in
    1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Tim I View Post
    I know this is an old post but is it possible to use VNC on a PanelviewPlus 6 firmware v7 that is a keyboard only?
    Yes, absolutely - I walk through it below (same on 6 and 7):

    https://minute.theautomationblog.com...-3-episode-34/
    Looking for affordable automation training? If you are, check out my courses at TheAutomationSchool.com!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •