Thread: Micrologix 1200 and software question

Micrologix 1200 and software question

Hi, I have just bought a second hand AB 1200 Micrologix PLC and 2 modules with a view to learning more about PLCs' and how to program and interact with them. One thing I overlooked was the software available to program them!

I have downloaded and installed the free software as per the help on this forum. My question is will I be able to use this software to program my 1200? As we all know with the free software I only get 1000 and 1100 options.

Any advice would be warmly welcome as I am a complete novice when it comes to PLC's,

Thanks inn advance,

Mike

Good afternoon Mike,

To program the MicroLogix 1200, 1400, or 1500 at a minimum you'll need a copy of RSLogix Micro Starter (not lite) which according to proposal works is current around $150:

9324-RLM0100ENE, RSLogix Micro Starter, English - Digital Download $145.00
    9324-RLM0100ENM, RSLogix Micro Starter, English - DVD $145.00 (also includes Digital Download last time I checked)

You could also ask your local distributor for a 30 temporary license, but I'm not sure if that will help:

https://theautomationblog.com/what-a...y-activations/

Hope this helps,

Shawn Tierney of The Automation Blog.
    You can support The Automation Blog, The Automation Minute, and The Automation Forums for as little as $1 a month and in return get free stuff from The Automation Exchange! Find out the details at Patreon.com/Automation.

Quote Originally Posted by Shawn Tierney View Post
    Good afternoon Mike,

To program the MicroLogix 1200, 1400, or 1500 at a minimum you'll need a copy of RSLogix Micro Starter (not lite) which according to proposal works is current around $150:

9324-RLM0100ENE, RSLogix Micro Starter, English - Digital Download $145.00
    9324-RLM0100ENM, RSLogix Micro Starter, English - DVD $145.00 (also includes Digital Download last time I checked)